5 Heartbreaking Songs

5. Don’t Speak – No Doubt

I think this is the best (saddest) break up song ever. When you’re really close to someone, it’s really hard to accept that the relationship isn’t working out anymore. Maybe because of too much differences or faded feelings. In this song, the relationship is dying but she’s pretending that nothing’s wrong while he is letting go. She cannot do anything to save what they have.

This song can also refer to friends growing apart.

You and me, we used to be together.
Everyday together always.
I really feel  that I’m losing my best friend.
I can’t believe this could be the end.

4. Just A Dream – Carrie Underwood

In the first lines of the song, it seems like the girl is going to her wedding. Turns out, it was her husband’s funeral. He died while serving in the army. I think they got married in the same church, and she is remembering as she walks to the coffin. She can’t believe it is happening so she’s wishing it was just a dream.

Baby, why’d you leave me? Why’d you have to go?
I was counting on forever, now I’ll never know.
I can’t even breathe.
It’s like I’m looking from a distance, standing in the background.
Everybody’s saying, “he’s not coming home now”.
This can’t be happening to me. This is just a dream.

3. Could It Be Any Harder – The Calling

I’ve been listening to this song for years and all along I’ve always thought this was a break up song. Then one time, it just occurred to me that this can be for a loved one who passed away.

I’d jump at the chance.
We’d drink and we’d dance.
And I’d listen close to your every word as if its your last.
I know it’s your last ‘cause today you’re gone.

2. Tonight – FM Static

This is a very sad song. The singer reminisces the moments he shared with that special someone who has died. It’s like he’s remembering all those memories because they cannot make new ones.

Few years ago, I’ve read somewhere that this was about someone’s fiance who died in the 9/11 bombing.

And every night I miss you.
I can just look up and know the stars are 
Holdin’ you, holdin’ you, holdin’ you tonight.

1. Terrible Things – Mayday Parade

This song is about meeting the boy/girl of your dreams but eventually taken away from you. In this song, the singer is talking to his son about meeting his mother. He’s telling him how they were in love since they were young. But sometimes, life gets in the way. She got sick and he was left alone.

So don’t fall in love, there’s just too much to lose.
If you’re given the choice, then I beg you to choose
to walk away, walk away, don’t let her get you.
I can’t bear to see the same happen to you.

Now, son, I’m only telling you this
because life can do terrible things.

5 responses to “5 Heartbreaking Songs

Leave a Reply

